<< return to Pixycam.com

Pixy / Arduino

Colleagues:

I have just begun working with a Pixie. I am using it in a project with a student in which I would like to set Arduino pins HIGH or LOW depending on object location in the camera’s field of view (i.e., based on midpoint location of a detected object). I assume this could be done embedded IF statements. Can some one point me toward How-to pages, sample codes, or tutorials that would give me a hand in setting this up?

Thanks in advance,

Dr. P

Hello Frederick,
Are you using a microcontroller to talk to Pixy? Or do you wish to use Pixy stand-alone?

Using Pixy stand-alone might require you to modify the firmware. This is possible, but it’s more complicated that using Pixy with an Arduino, for example.

Edward

Edward:

Yes, an Arduino Uno, and Mega. My strength is neurobiology, and building the hardware. I am a novice at the software (to say the least). So, I need some guidance.

As a matter of fact, for my projects, I periodically need brief sketches to kick start what I am doing (which is mostly teaching). Hence, I am considering asking the community if there are individuals whom I could hire to write sketches for me on a contract basis when the need arises.

So, now I need to get a handle on how to write a sketch that says: IF an object has a center (average of the Y values, average if the X values) such that (0<X<2 && 0<Y<2), <set PIN_0 HIGH, delay (500), set PIN_0 LOW>. If the center falls within another range of X,Y values, set the next PIN HIGH for a set amount of time, and so on. Hence, the pins will be activated based on object center location. I assume that this is a simpler variant of the basic servo sketches.

Suggestions?

FRP

Hi Frederick,
It sounds like a pretty simple program. You could modify the hello_world sketch pretty easily, compare the x and y values of the returned block and then set an I/O on the Arduino accordingly.