<< return to Pixycam.com

Pixy 2.1 in SPI mode to Arduino MKR ZERO

I am new to Pixy 2.1 and I am using it via SPI connections to the Arduino MKR ZERO, see picture below:

I had to make some custom jumper wires using Dupont connectors.

So far, I have only tested the example ccc_hello_world.ino, and I encountered a similar problem as previously reported here (Pixy2.1 alternates between no response error and actual data).

Fortunately, I have found a solution for it. Essentially, it looks like that the main loop needs to slow down a little bit as the MKR ZERO may be “faster” than the UNO: see the added line 55 in the picture below.

This small delay seemed to stabilize the data flow between the Pixy 2.1 and the MKR ZERO, so hopefully this will help future users.

However, I do have a question for Pixy Support: can I use 3.3 V (i.e. VCC) from the MKR ZERO to drive the Pixy 2.1? Or is that too low a Voltage Input for the Pixy 2.1 to work properly?

Thank you.

1 Like

Hello,
The thread you mentioned:

He had a conflict with the MISO and/or MOSI signals that was causing his communication to drop out. I’m not sure why you would need a delay.

Regarding powering Pixy via 3.3V, it’s too low. Your best bet would be to supply 5V via the I/O connector:

https://docs.pixycam.com/wiki/doku.php?id=wiki:v2:port_pinouts

Edward

Thank you for the VIN update.

My setup was using only the SPI Port (no SS), see picture below.

Without the time delay, my setup showed correct data only for 1 or 2 minutes (randomly), then it showed the no response error message afterwards and got stuck there too, until the program got reloaded. However, during this “error” time, I could tell from the Front Color LED that the camera was still doing its job and recognized the correct color signatures though. Just glad to have found a “work-around” for now.

Hello,