<< return to Pixycam.com

Determie Object Speed and Distance

I was wondering if the PIXY can track an object like an automobile going between 50-125 miles per hours. If yes, how would it do that since I saw the getBlocks API but I didn’t see any time for these block that would tell me the time of an object.

I am new to this camera so I don’t really know all that it can do.

Any help on this would be great.

Hello,
I’ve never tried this, but there’s a possibility that it would work. For fast objects, you need good lighting to reduce motion blur. To detect velocity, you can use Pixy2’s blocks[] object and the m_x, m_y, m_index and m_age fields to infer the velocity over 2 or more frames.

https://docs.pixycam.com/wiki/doku.php?id=wiki:v2:ccc_api

Hope this helps!

Edward

Thanks for responding and giving me something to look into.

How many max frames per second does the camera function at. I have seen 50 and then 60 in some places.

Also does 1 block represent 1 frame?

Thanks again

Hello,
Pixy2’s maximum framerate is around 62 FPS. To get the framerate, you can call getFPS():

https://docs.pixycam.com/wiki/doku.php?id=wiki:v2:general_api

You can set the frames per second by setting “min frames per second” parameter:

https://docs.pixycam.com/wiki/doku.php?id=wiki:v2:pixymon_index#camera-tab

A block is a detected object. There may be several blocks in a frame.

Edward

Thanks Edward… I do understand how that all works now…

one other question is there any way to determine distance travel of an object by using the frames and blocks within the frame?

Thanks,
Keith

Hello Keith,
You can determine the number of pixels a given block travels between frames by matching the m_index values of the blocks between frames, so that you are referring to the same object.